Cameron School of Business - Outstanding Alumni

The outstanding alumni are recognized during the Cameron School of Business' Business Week each year.

2020 Honorees

2020 Alumni of the Year

Ron Hamm ’90 – President of Hamm Consulting Group

Ron Hamm is President of Hamm Consulting Group, LLC, a Washington, D.C. based federal government relations firm that provides federal lobbying, strategic counsel, and consulting services to municipal, higher education, nonprofit, and private sector clients. Ron has over 25 years of experience working with clients across the nation, Congress, the White House, and federal agencies to formulate and execute strategies to secure federal funding, legislation, and regulatory changes that support client priorities.

Prior to starting Hamm Consulting Group in 2010, Ron was a managing partner at The Ferguson Group, another Washington federal government relations firm. He served on the firm’s Executive Committee and was responsible for the leadership and overall management of the company. In addition to providing Washington representation for clients, he directed the firm’s Education Practice Group and frequently spoke to audiences on education, public infrastructure, and funding issues along with effective federal advocacy.

Ron earned his bachelor’s degree in Finance at the University of North Carolina, Wilmington and an MBA degree from Virginia Tech University. Ron, a former president of the UNCW African American Graduate Association, serves on the UNCW Board of Visitors and remains active in alumni activities. He is a member of the California State University D.C. Scholars Board, and president of the Joyce Gillespie Harrington Educational and Charitable Foundation of the ZUL Chapter of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc. Ron is also a corporate member of the Conference of Minority Transportation Officials (COMTO).

Ron is a native of Rocky Mount, North Carolina and now resides in Ashburn, Virginia with his wife Lisa, a 1989 graduate of UNCW, and their two sons.


Melissa Phillippi '03 - Co-Founder and President of Performance Culture

Melissa Phillippi is Co-Founder and President of Performance Culture, Inc., a cloud-based performance management platform that helps leaders build better teams for better results.

Performance Culture’s Founders and Partners have extensive experience in coaching and developing high performing teams. Together they combined this expertise into repeatable processes, allowing teams everywhere to maintain traction through the Performance Culture application and consulting services.

Working collaboratively with Co-Founder Dallas Romanowski, Melissa created Performance Culture’s Coach the Coach program, a foundation for the performance evaluation process. Additionally, she has created Leadership and Manager Training Workshops focused on helping leaders grow in their communication, emotional intelligence, coaching, and leadership skills.

Prior to joining Performance Culture, Inc., Melissa worked in banking and financial sales and became a top performer among her peers. She graduated with a B.S. in Business Administration from the Cameron School of Business at UNCW and holds the CERTIFIED FINANCIAL PLANNER™ designation.  


Marcus Green '01, '02M - Global Head, Monitoring at GlaxoSmithKline

Marcus Green has more than 15 years of audit and risk management experience. Since joining GlaxoSmithKline in 2011, Marcus has held roles of increasing responsibility within Audit and Assurance and Global Ethics and Compliance. In his current role, Marcus leads a global team providing assurance to senior management on the compliance of key internal and external business processes.

Prior to joining GSK, Marcus was an Assurance Senior Manager with Ernst & Young, where he focused on financial audits of companies in the life sciences and technology industries. 

Marcus is a proud double graduate of UNC-Wilmington, with bachelor's degrees in Finance and Information Systems and a master’s degree in Accounting. He is a licensed CPA in the State of North Carolina.

Marcus and his wife, Clarissa (also a UNCW graduate), reside in Raleigh, NC with their three children- Marcus Jr., Michael, and Mia.

Past CSB Alumni of the Year

2019 Awardees

  • Howell Graham '85
  • Judy Lynn '89
  • David Wallace '77 

2018 Awardees

  • Roy Page '84
  • Brad Heath ’96 ’07M
  • Lauren Henderson ’12M 

2017 Awardees

  • Chris Dentiste '85
  • Hope Campbell '91
  • Michael Barton '68

2016 Awardees

  • Maurice Smith '79
  • David Pirrung '90
  • Charles Craft '79

2015 Awardees

  • Hugh Caison '85
  • Vaughn Reynolds '97, '98M
  • Shaun Olsen '02

2014 Awardees

  • Jim Rouse '77
  • Robert Keith '78
  • Lynn Whitesell '97

2013 Awardees

  • Robin L. Diehl '90
  • Jean English '96
  • Bill Mayew '97

2012 Awardees

  • Carlton Fisher, '83
  • Jim Parker, '98
  • Jason Wheeler, '99, '03

2011 Awardees

  • Donis Noe, '94
  • Gareth Montague-Smith, '97
  • Judy Tharp, '78

2010 Awardees

  • Livian Jones, '95
  • Pete Schuhmann, '90
  • Todd Thibodeaux, '88

2009 Awardees

  • David Finch, '83
  • Tim Duncan, '73
  • Tom Oxenfeld, '77

2008 Awardees

  • David L Cole, '72
  • David Congdon, '78
  • Herbert P. McKim Jr., '85

Previous Years Outstanding Alumni

  • Becky O'Daniell, '86
  • Bruce Schell, '77
  • Chris Hegele, '76
  • James Bongiorno, '94
  • Joseph "Jay" Taylor III, '78
  • Joseph L. King III, '66
  • Linda Baddour, 80', '96
  • Louis H. Rogers III, '01
  • Margaret Barclay, '87
  • Malcomb Coley, '86
  • Robert "Chip" Leavitt Jr., '91