2016 Alumni of the Year

Photo: Maurice Smith, David Pirrung, Charles Craft; UNCW

Cameron School of Business - Outstanding Alumni

The outstanding alumni are recognized during the Cameron School of Business' Business Week each year.

2016 Honorees

2016 Alumni of the Year
Maurice Smith

Maurice Smith '79

Maurice Smith is the President/CEO of Local Government Federal Credit Union. LGFCU is a financial cooperative serving the financial needs of employees, appointed officials, elected officeholders and volunteers of local governments in North Carolina.

Smith began his career in financial services as a loan officer for State Employees' Credit Union. Smith served in several capacities including vice-president/city executive and vice-president of marketing and training. Smith joined LGFCU in 1992 as the Executive Vice-President and was promoted to President in 1999.

Smith received his Bachelors of Science in Business Administration from the University of North Carolina at Wilmington and earned a Juris Doctorate from the NC Central University School of Law. Smith is licensed to practice law in North Carolina, the District of Columbia and before the United States Supreme Court. Smith is also a North Carolina Certified Superior Court Mediator. Smith achieved a NC Real Estate Brokers License, Certified Credit Union Executive Designation and attended several management and marketing schools.

>Smith and his wife have two children and live in Cary, North Carolina. He is a Deacon at Wake Chapel Church in Raleigh, North Carolina, and participates in several community and civic activities.

David Pirrung

David Pirrung '90

After spending a year on a scholarship as a physics major at the Rochester Institute of Technology, and a year living at home and commuting to a community college, in the summer of 1998, Dave moved to Wilmington to attend summer school at the University of North Carolina at Wilmington (the decision was completely based on the academic reputation of the University).

Mr. Pirrung was hired and began his career with Ernst & Young LLP in January of 1991, and worked in the Raleigh office through the spring of 1997. In 1997, Mr. Pirrung was promoted to Sr. Manager and transferred with E&Y to South Florida to develop an insurance practice for the firm. Mr. Pirrung left the firm in the spring of 1999 to work as the Chief Financial Officer for a start-up Florida property insurance company.

In 2001, Dave and his wife moved back to North Carolina and worked for a year in the insurance practice of Dixon Hughes Goodman. In 2002, Mr. Pirrung began his career with the IAT Insurance Group in Raleigh. The Group consists of a Bermuda reinsurance company, and eight U.S. domestic property and casualty insurance companies. Dave has been the group CFO since 2005. In addition to his responsibilities for the accounting, financial reporting, treasury, investment management, actuarial, and regulatory compliance functions of the group, Dave has also led several interesting projects including: the runoff of a major bail bond operation, the acquisition and divestiture of multiple insurance companies and other entities, major tax litigation, a proxy fight with a public company, and numerous family office planning issues.

Dave lives in the Wakefield Plantation community in North Raleigh with his wife of nineteen years, Kate, and his three sons: Connor, Cole, and Luke.

Charles Craft

Charles Craft '79

H. Charles Craft, III is a partner at RSM US LLP (RSM) - the nation's largest provider of audit, tax and consulting services focused on the middle market. He has more than 35 years of experience providing accounting and tax services to a variety of closely held businesses, their owners and other organizations.

In his current role, Charles provides leadership in the Wilmington, North Carolina tax practice. He consults with clients on various business matters and is actively involved in designing and implementing tax planning that is responsive to their organizational and individual strategies. Additionally, Charles serves as a speaker to civic and professional organizations. Charles was a stockholder and founder of Lanier, Whaley, Craft & Co. until the firm's team joined RSM in November 2013. He also spent more than 10 years with a large regional firm serving in various roles including partner.

Charles is a Certified Public Accountant, a member of the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants, in which he also holds the CGMA designation, and a member of the North Carolina Association of Certified Public Accountants. He is also a member of the Institute of Management Accountants and previously served as Chapter President. Charles currently serves on the Executive Advisory Board of the Cameron School of Business, the MSA Advisory Committee at UNCW and the Board of Directors of the Advent Christian Village, Inc. in Dowling Park, Florida.

Charles graduated summa cum laude with a Bachelor of Science in accounting from UNCW.

Past CSB Alumni of the Year

2019 Awardees

  • Howell Graham '85
  • Judy Lynn '89
  • David Wallace '77

2018 Awardees

  • Roy Page '84
  • Brad Heath ’96 ’07M
  • Lauren Henderson ’12M 

2017 Awardees

  • Chris Dentiste '85
  • Hope Campbell '91
  • Michael Barton '68

2016 Awardees

  • Maurice Smith '79
  • David Pirrung '90
  • Charles Craft '79

2015 Awardees

  • Hugh Caison '85
  • Vaughn Reynolds '97, '98M
  • Shaun Olsen '02

2014 Awardees

  • Jim Rouse '77
  • Robert Keith '78
  • Lynn Whitesell '97

2013 Awardees

  • Robin L. Diehl '90
  • Jean English '96
  • Bill Mayew '97

2012 Awardees

  • Carlton Fisher, '83
  • Jim Parker, '98
  • Jason Wheeler, '99, '03

2011 Awardees

  • Donis Noe, '94
  • Gareth Montague-Smith, '97
  • Judy Tharp, '78

2010 Awardees

  • Livian Jones, '95
  • Pete Schuhmann, '90
  • Todd Thibodeaux, '88

2009 Awardees

  • David Finch, '83
  • Tim Duncan, '73
  • Tom Oxenfeld, '77

2008 Awardees

  • David L Cole, '72
  • David Congdon, '78
  • Herbert P. McKim Jr., '85

Previous Years Outstanding Alumni

  • Becky O'Daniell, '86
  • Bruce Schell, '77
  • Chris Hegele, '76
  • James Bongiorno, '94
  • Joseph "Jay" Taylor III, '78
  • Joseph L. King III, '66
  • Linda Baddour, 80', '96
  • Louis H. Rogers III, '01
  • Margaret Barclay, '87
  • Malcomb Coley, '86
  • Robert "Chip" Leavitt Jr., '91